Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Mo2008
    Participant

This is my first time writing about this at all so I apologize in advance if there are any gaps in my story or if certain things are unclear. Chalk it up to nerves, I guess. So, my boyfriend and I have been together for over 10 years. We are also an international couple. We were long distance before I moved to his home country for work. We lived together for 3 and a half years. In 2015, after a year into living together, he revealed to me he has been gambling for quite some time, has no savings, and credit debt as well as loans because of stress from work and other personal matters. I was always wondering why he never had much money to spend and why he was very secretive about his finances but I never questioned it because I was young, naive, and trusted him. I was devastated by the news and from that day on, he slowly but steadily stopped gambling. He even paid off one of his loans and became more open with his finances. Things for him, and by extension us, were getting better. But, I needed to move back to my home country for serious personal reasons and we agreed we would work on moving him here with me. That was always our goal anyway when we first got together.