Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      kel84
      Participant

Hi All,
      I am new to this, so any help would be very appreciated.

I am very worried with my brother as I know for a fact he is gambling, He is 35 years old and lives at home with my mum and dad. He works full time with a good job (he works really hard and very good at his job), he is respected by everyone whom he works with. He doesn’t pay any board towards his keep at my mum and Dads house. He only pays for his mobile and Sky bill. He earns around £600 a week!

Below are just a few examples:-

In the past my mum and dad have had money missing from their house, £10 missing then £20 missing every now and again (what we know of) they have challenged him and he has denied taking any money.
      My dad did a few days work for him and owed my dad £300 for 2 days work, but never paid my dad, My brother has said the customer never paid him the wages so my dad never got paid for the work he did.

My brother has never got any money, he is borrowing money from myself, my mum and friends. It takes him ages to pay back and when myself and my mum ask for it back he gets quite verbally aggressive which isn’t nice!

The most recent thing that has happened, myself and my mum save money in a secure tin from selling items on eBay (the tin you have to open with a tin opener), we managed to save around £500 – £700 in the tin, my mum hides it in a wardrobe in her bedroom. She discovered the tin was missing at the weekend. no-one else has been in my mum and dads house, my mum challenged him and he denied it and said “why would I take it”?? “if I needed money I would ask”..
      We checked his room and discovered a hat full of change that looked like it been emptied and the remaining change left the hat. We have contacted the police and they are coming to make get a statement from me and mum in a few days.