Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    porkpie
    Participant

Hi I’m new here, and after some advice!
    My boyfriend has been gambling since around August 2010, we have been together since November 2010.
    It has been an issue in the past, as he generally blows all his wages, and i’m left to pay for everything.
    I am a student at university and have had to use all my student finance money to pay bills etc.
    I have only £4.00 left in my account and no savings as they have all been spent.
    Last week he gambled around £1200, (His wages and his Tax Rebate) this money was meant for living expenses and to pay back his family.
    I only found out, that he had gambled the lot when i stated that we needed electric for the house.
    He seems apologetic, though he always does. This is from what i am aware the largest sum of money he has gambled.
    His parents and brother, were unaware of his gambling till a few days ago, and agreed to lend him some money to pay the rent.
    I am unsure as to what to do.
    I have covered up for him alot in the past, he gambled his entire wages in Janurary and Februaury.
    I have lied to my family and they think he hasn’t gambled for at least 9 months and the figure this time was only about £500. My mother says i should take all his possessions that are worth money and hold them as security, until he pays me back (around £2000) the figure he owes me. And that i should leave him.
    She says he will never change, and i could do so much better than him.
    When he isnt gambling our relationship is very stable, he doesnt drink or womanise. The only issue is i feel he takes me for granted and allows me to do all the house work, care for my mother and complete my university work.
    I am still quite young and he is 10 years older than me.