Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Ashya
    Participant

Hi all. 

Im new to this but I think that this is my last resort, I’m really at my wits end.

Where to start.

I met my boyfriend 6 years ago. We moved in together 4 years ago. This is when I really started to notice a problem. I was the one who paid most of the bills, rent etc. Despite being the lower income earner. There was always an excuse and a promise of ‘pay you back in a couple of days’ but it rarely happened. 

There has been many ups and downs financially& emotionally. Many losses and many wins. We both lost our jobs at the one time, I had work permit related issues (i’m an immigrant)  so I couldnt work for a period of time. Slowly our severance packages vanished, followed by savings and basically any money that was available. Every time I confronted him about what was going on, the fact that he was the one working seemed to give him the impression that he could spend it any way he wanted.

Finally I got back in the working world and thought that maybe things would get better, I would have a say in our finances again. It just seems to be my responsibility to pay bills again and I’m the one making all the sacrifices to make ends meet.

I’he tried so many options & heard all the excuses. I took full reign of all money. That made him feel like a child. i let him take control of the bank account. That worked really well for  2 months, until it didn’t. Working overtime to bank savings and reduce debt all vanished within minutes. Every confrontation, I’ve heard it all. Today when I asked about the missing money I got nothing, just silence & he has now gone to bed.  What used to be screaming fights have now just turned into nothing, I don’t even get an excuse. The time prior to this, he said he doesn’t care anymore. He just doesn’t want to fight. It is what it is.