Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      little blue
      Participant

Well here I am – again, just where I hoped and prayed I wouldn’t be. The first time (last time) I swore I would walk away (have him walk away) if the lies and deceit and gambling continued – I foolishly/naively believed him when he said he’d stopped for good but…. I guess thats what you get with a CG in your life – lies and uncertainty. So my background is that I am married to a CG (although I didn’t know he was a CG when we  met and later married) – he came clean to me a couple of years ago after wiping out our savings and most of our business and got help with GA etc for a while and all was good. So the last 2 years of being gamble free have been a lie really (well all but the first short while) and after getting in a mess again I have found out the full extent of it and we are back to the beginning. So where do we go from here – I am sticking around (for now at least) as I am not a quitter and I can’t look back on life with regrets at not trying but… I won’t be made a fool of and I won’t let him destroy my childrens lives – if he can’t/won’t put them and their needs first then we will be gone as I know I can/will/do put their needs first. I’d rather be a single mum and times be tough than have them live with the poison of gambling in their lives.
      So thats my angry bit over (lol) – despite all that I know that the person I married is not deliberately doing this to hurt us and it is the evil power of gambling that takes over – he is ill really. I will do all in my power to help and support him but know he has to do this himself for himself as well as for us. Already we have a plan of attack and have started to access the support/help out there but will it be enough – only time will tell.