Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Iceqwn7
      Participant

Hi, this is my first time reaching out. My boyfriend has a gambling issue. We have known each other for two years and been dating for over a year. I love him and want to help I just don’t know what to do anymore. He has asked me for help about a few months ago and admitted he has an issue. He told me to be super negative about gambling and that it’s all rigid. When I have done that he yells at me for not being positive/supportive. I wil admit I have enabled him, but it is hard for me to know where to draw the line with being a supportive girlfriend or an enabler. He has been gambling for at least 8 plus years. This is the first year it has gotten out of control to the point he has admitted he was fearful of this happening. When I first met him we would gamble for fun. Not an issue tho there were signs he didn’t know how to handle loosing or being able to know when to walk away. At the beginning of the year it became more noticeable there were issues. I even stopped playing with him because he made it not fun and uncomfortable. If he lost he would just complain about luck or how is it only him that looses. I tried to be the rational one and said it’s luck it’s not something you can control and that everyone loses. You are probably seeing the small percentage of them winning in this moment not the 23 other hours they are playing.