Get practical support with your gambling problem Forum Friends and Family My husband is a CG and and I want to leave him

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    wheretonow
    Participant

Hello all. I have never tried a forum before but feel so lost and sad that I thought I’d try to vent. I hope to get some responses from you out there. I have been with my husband for 11 years and married for 7 years. We have a 6 year old son and a 1 year old daughter. Part of that 11 years he has been a wonderful loving husband and a dedicated fun dad. The other part of it he has been a compulsive gambler who has gambled away our lives at the poker machine.
    I am confused because I feel anger but also pity towards him. I feel stupid for marrying him even though I knew he had this addiction. I feel sad that my kids and me miss out on nice things because of his gambling. But I also feel sad for him because I know he loves us so much. I am spending my time reading up as much as I can about addiction and CG. I hope this will help me through the storm that is about to hit.
    My husband has stolen money from me, his parents, my parents (which of course he lied and swore that it wasn’t him) and worst of all he has also taken the money from the kids piggy bank. In the beginning, I tried giving him an allowance to gamble (it was hard but someone said that might help), then I tried going with him (I thought then I could stop him when I wanted), then I tried being nice about it (maybe if he could see that I was such an understanding wife he might stop) and of course I’ve been so angry and upset. All in all I have realised that there is NOTHING I can do to change him. At the moment, I have all financial access but he seems to always find money faster than I can hide it.