Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      AnnieC
      Participant

Hi everyone

I am new to this, so please forgive me if I misstep.

My beloved SO has not only a gambling problem, but I am afraid there are other mental health issues. There is paranoia, hypochondria, anger, mistrust, mood swings. It’s getting more and more scary. I am worried this person will end up in a ditch somewhere. It terrifies me.

This person has alienated every member of their family. I believe they have given up on my SO. They planned an intervention many years ago that went terribly wrong. I am the only one left for this person (I’m sure that makes me codependent among other issues, so we’ll throw that in the mix as well).

I moved away so now we have a long distance relationship, I will not let my SO borrow money, and I have made it clear I don’t approve. However, I have not taken the steps to leave or deliver ultimatums. The problem is, honestly, I’m struggling with doing it.

I truly love this person with all my heart – one would probably challenge this by saying that if this was true, I would “do the right thing” and walk away. We have been together for a awhile now. My SO’s problem existed far before we got together (although we knew each other as children long, long ago). I have a feeling that if I continue to push, my SO will leave. It’s probably the best, but it’s so much easier to say than do.

I want my SO to get the help they need, but this person still doesn’t see it as a problem. I understand at least that the CG needs to hit rock bottom and see that it’s a problem before being willing to get help. Rock bottom has been hit before, but not enough for the change. Any feedback would be appreciated.

AnnieC
      Participant