Get practical support with your gambling problem Forum Friends and Family Newbie here but been round the ringer with my bfs gambling

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    JLF46
    Participant

Hi Everyone, 

I’m new here but not new to the heart break and stresses of gambling addiction. I’ve been going around in circles for almost 3 years now. Each time I tell myself that it’s the last time and I won’t put up with the lies and bs anymore. Yet each time I come back for more.

Little background 2.5 years ago I found out my bf had a large gambling problem. I started to notice him spending long days working, leaving me at home with his child. Money was an issue even though he made a very good living working for himself. I couldn’t figure out why he never had any money. Why I paid the bills, and pretty much everything else. I finally found out one weekend when I was expecting him to cover the house hold bills. He couldn’t. Finally came clean he had gambled 10’s of thousands that week. I had a complete meltdown and he swore up and down it would not happen again.

Skip ahead 6 months and it happened again. Again I was waiting for money to come from him and his story changed constantly. I finally looked into my company emails and found that the payment we were expecting had been paid and when I lost it and confronted him he still lied and continued to until I said let’s look at the bank statement. Even with the proof in front of me in black and white he kept lying until I pointed out the proof. It was more of the same. I won’t do it again. He’s borrowed money from everyone..friends, family and companies.

Well he finally gave me access begrudgingly to his bank one bank account thinking that this would help I was happy. Well he refuses to give me access to his other account. I know he’s gambling out of it. He has a pile of friends that are all gamblers so they all cover for each other.