Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Cbrig
      Participant

I am new to this and new to dealing with someone who is addicted to gambling. I have been with my boyfriend for over 5 years. I knew he played cards when I met him (4 times a week). I told him I would have an issue with that. I dated him anyway. 2 years later I had moved in and moved out because of him going to play cards every week even when I would beg him not too. After I moved out, we compromised and he promised to only go twice a month, so I moved back. Now it is a little over 3 years later and I just found out that he has been lying to me all these years and had continued going to play cards while I was trusting him thinking he was doing something else. He admitted he’s addicted and doesn’t think he can stop and feels he needs to go 3 times a week. I love him so much and he really is a good hearted great guy, but I just don’t know what to do. I don’t want to lose him, but at the same time I don’t want to live like this. Any advice?

worriedmama
      Participant

I always feel so negative posting a reply to a first-time poster. It is a very difficult addiction for both the CG and those that love them.
      The bad news is that it is a very progressive disease. Once your CG has started lying about it is when its reached the addictive stage. They will lie and manipulate those around them to keep gambling. They can have you believing that it’s everyone’s fault but their own.