Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      jensy
      Participant

Hi Every one,
      This is my first time on this forum and I have been reading peoples posts and things and I just felt the urge to write about my own problem.
      I am 29, just had my birthday a few weeks ago, I am 29 and I can not control my finances?
      I have been gambling for about 3-4 years. It started very small and it was a fun hobby of mine that I had and I really enjoyed it the feeling of getting home from work on a Friday night and getting a few glasses of wine and going online and just getting away for a few hours.
      My partner at the time worked as a chef and was rarely home which had made me feel very lonely, but going online gambling I didnt feel lonely anymore I felt happy.
      Any way as the weeks and months passed of winning and loosing I started gamble more and more, whenever I could really when he was not around, it wasent massive amounts and money were coming in so there was no problem financially. I didnt realise then how this game can also make you feel like not living, not wanting to wake up and thinking of ways on how to end my life.
      It got to a point when I was feeling very miserable I told my partner about it and a weight was lifted of my shoulder, he said “just dont do it again” as if it is that easy.
      But it worked then and I got over it.
      I stayed off all gambling for probably just over a year and one night I thought, well a little game wont hurt, just one…. and then I was on it again more and more and more.
      I just felt so lonely without it.
      Me and my partner of 7 years then split up, not due to gambling more to the fact that he was never around and thats when it all started big time.
      I moved out and had all my own bills to pay and I felt that if I did a bit of gambling it would help me to live how I used to without struggling with money.