Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 88 total)
  • Author
    Steven187
    Participant

I’ve been gambling in a harmful way for around 6 months.
    I’ve lost around £50,000 through gambling I football matches through my phone and have another £15,000 on credit cards.
    I’ve been trying not to gamble and go through spells where I’m not, but seem to get dragged back in. I realise this behaviour is destructive, yet I still do it.
    My girlfriend or family do not understand. They see it as-stop gambling. I’ve not found it that simple or easy. I’ve been chasing losses, been up and then lost more. I’ve gone through suicidal thoughts, but I’m thankfully over that for now.
    I had decent savings, which are all gone and I now find myself in debt.

Adam26
    Participant

Having lost all my savings too I can say it is very difficult to let go. You’re going to need to accept that your money is gone and you’ll never see it again. I can only tell you that it will get easier with every passing day. Easier, but it’s never easy. You have to be strong my friend. I was in your position over a year ago. £20,000 savings gone! My wages every week gone! But after just over 1 year and 9 weeks, I can say I’ve not gambled a day and have managed to save just under 9 grand back. Trust me. It will feel better earning your money back than winning it. Winnings are just losses in waiting. Good luck bud.

Steven187
    Participant

Def easier said than done.
    Do you have any advice for stopping completely?
    Now at the point I’m worrying about paying back credit cards and loans, so will be no saving for a while.

Adam26
    Participant

I can’t say for certain. What will help you. For me as an individual, I find a day tally really helps me aim for goals. I’ve gone 1 year, 9 weeks and 3 days today. Adding to that helps to keep me responsible. It’s the longest I’ve gone in my gambling life so I want to keep it going as long as possible.

Steven187
    Participant