Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      maria5551
      Participant

Hi I’m new here and really don’t know where else to turn. I have been gambling for about 5 years now and stopped a few times but started again about a year ago and its completely out of control again. A little about me I’m a single mum of 3 boys ages 16,11, and 7. My eldest is autistic and my youngest is autistic and has ADHD. I suffer from various disabilities myself and am housebound a lot of the time. My problem is with online slots I can spend anything up to £2000 a month doing this. I will wait up until midnight the night I’m due to be paid and as soon as my money hits my bank account I start playing. I have got myself into major debt doing this. I just got paid £580 at midnight and have spent £480 in an hour on the slots. I feel so ashamed of myself wasting money that I could be spending on my kids I mean what sort of a mother am I to do that. I always have to tell my kids no when they ask for stuff even a £1 ice cream as I have spent all our money on slots. I’m sick of it I’m sick of this life I’m sick of always saying no and I’m sick of feeling like the worst mum in the world. I desperately need help to stop doing this I have been reading the Allan Carr easyway to stop gambling but it’s not stopped me gambling. I don’t know where else to turn I can’t go on like this xxx

Fritz
      Participant

I am so sorry to hear of your trouble. It is awful when you are out of control and so remorseful. Is there any way you can get someone to take control of your finances for a while? When it is such an ingrained habit you really need some help or it is quite likely to continue. Also try the helpline here, and group chats, they are great. You are not alone, take care and hang on, have faith.

velvet

<

Hello Maria and thanks for starting a thread in the Gambling Therapy forums