Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      HannahD
      Participant

Hi Guys,

I am new to this but feel like I need to talk to someone. I have been going out with my boyfriend now for 5 and a half years. We met through work and still do work together so there is little escape when things get hard. He had a little girl from a previous relationship (2 when I first met him, now nearly 8) and she lives with us full time – me taking on the full time mummy role. I can tell you now that little girl is my baby and it breaks my heart to ever think of not being there for her 🙁

When I first met my partner he was quite flash with money, always had about £300 in his wallet and I guess I just didn’t think much of it. Then the following summer I found a bank statement which had £800 going out to a bookies in one day. I flipped my lid and this was the beginning of my realisation there may be a problem here. We too’d and fro’d with his gambling over the next two years, where I took control of finances. Removed his cards, set up a payment plan to clear his debts and took over the joint account. He would realapse at times, some worse than others but then would go months with nothing and a bit of calm again.

Unfortunately his job has many social functions and so a day out at the races/football occurs often and I don’t attend these so cannot watch him and so he bets. I feel like his mother saying this last sentence its horrible. I am so sick and tired of having no trust in him whatsoever and have checked his phone too for the same reasons.