Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      young_gun
      Participant

Hi All,
      My name is Chris, and this is the first time I’m going to say / type these words, I have a gambling addiction. There I did it….I already feel better!
      First off, a litte bit about myself, im a 26 year old professional male, living in California, well….not really living as I’ve been dreaming in a fog of misery for the last couple months…
      Im writing this today because once again, I woke up in a panic, and looked back at another night of drinking (where is why I binge gamble, I lose all sense of monetary value) and another hit to my credit card. A solid 2,000 USD. The first question I ask myself is what happened to those days where I couldn’t bare losing a $100 bill. Now in this last month, If I can make it through a night of playing and only losing $300-500 I look back and tell myself "phew, atleast it wasnt like that first binge 3 weeks ago when I lost $5,000." I have only been gambling heavy for the last three weeks of my life, and I can already tell this is something if I don’t catch now, those thoughts of wanting to die could eventually become a reality….It really is a scary place to be in..
      Ive gone on 4 binges now, losing more than $1,000 at a time, and a few others losing between $300-1,000. What hurts the most is, after the first time it happened three weeks ago, when I lost rougly 5-6 grand, I thought I had learned my lesson….why? Why didnt I? Was the pain I felt not enough? I guess it wasnt…Here I am now, down more than $10,000 (Not sure I really want to know) since I started gambling heavily and I realized, wow, the life before gambling may have been hard, but atleast I was living…In the last three weeks, I’ve ignoed my friends, havent spent any significant loving time with the girl of my dreams and the one I plan to marry..and I’m now 10k extra in credit card debt. fun…not so much.