Gambling Therapy logo
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      hopeful4
      Participant

I have been gambling almost every day for the last 3 years. I have spent every dime I have over and over again. I tell myslef each time I spend every dime I win or loose it is the last time… Yet I always go back. . Even though loosing the money is a big disappointment, the bigger disappointment is the loss of my sense of sanity. I physically have changed. I mentally have changed. My friends and family do not see my destruction because I don’t ask for money or have problems paying my bills. I cover it well. I want to stop!
      I’ve been to conseling. I know the steps to take, yet I do not take them. I need help badly. I have been ashamed to write or talk about to anyone but my doctor until today. I want my peace of mind back. This blog will ne my start. Day 1.

Anonymous

HI Hopeful. I love your name and you have every reason to be hopeful. I think you have, like many others on here, a gambling disorder. I’m not sure most doctors know how to go about helping people with this disorder. In fact I’m not sure how many counsellors know.
      You have taken a great positive step in coming on here. You will get lots of support from staff and users on the site alike.

Somethings you can do for yourself right away: MAT..money access time.
      If you remove one of these things you can’t gamble. So you could maybe get someone’s help in managing your money, cut up all cards, only carry the cash you need.
      You could put a gambling block on your computer, self ban from gambling establishments etc.
      Today is day 1 and a good day to achieve all this.

You will get lots of support on here and the groups where you can chat to others are really good .

The Important thing to remember is that, although it seems overwhelming now, this disorder is only a small part of you. You are a whole person with many qualities.